Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Help Center

< All Topics

How to Maintain your PMP Certification and Continue your Professional Development?

Getting the Project Management Professional Certification is a tough nut to crack. And if you have attained it, it is a huge accomplishment. But, the journey does not end here. You need to maintain the certification as it is valid for three years. You need to undergo different developmental activities to ensure that your credential remains active.

The Project Management Institute (PMI) offers the CCR program that helps PMP-certified individuals maintain their certification status. CCR refers to Continuing Certification Requirements. It is based on PDUs or Professional Development Units.

So, how can you maintain your PMP certification with the CCR program and PDUs? We have covered it here, read on.

What are PDUs?

PDUs or Professional Development Units are professional learning and development activities of one-hour time blocks. Approved by PMI, they ensure that you are on a continuous learning path and actively engaged in improving your project management skills.

The main aim of these PDUs is to help PMP-certified professionals with learning activities like classes, webinars, and seminars. It also promotes self-directed learning. It also focuses on teaching others, mentoring and volunteering, and sharing your knowledge and experience in helping others. So, to earn one PDU, you need to spend an hour in these developmental activities.


How to know the status of PDUs?

Using the CCRS (Continuing Certification Requirements System) tool, you can update your PDUs. It has an easy-to-use dashboard that also displays other information like the summary of your claimed PDUs, the remaining number of days till the expiration of your certification, and how many more PDUs you need to renew the certification.

Thus, you need to monitor your certification status and PDU counts regularly to ensure that you do not miss any important updates.

How many PDUs do you need for maintaining PMP Certification?

As there are different PMI certifications, their PDU requirements also differ. For PMP, every three years, you need to earn 60 PDUs. Since there are two types of PDUs, here are the detailed requirements:

For maintaining your PMP certification, you need to earn a minimum of 35 PDUs in educational activities. You can attend PMI conferences, participate in different workshops and events, and also take on online training courses. You need at least 8 PDUs in each for Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic and Business Management.

Volunteering activities are not mandatory. You can earn zero to 25 PDUs in this category.

What are PMP Renwal Fees?

When you earn the required number of PDUs required for your CCR cycle, you get a notification for renewal fee payment along with a confirmation from PMI that you have met the PDU requirements. If you are a PMI member, you need to pay USD 60. Without membership, you need to pay USD 150. You need to submit this fee within 90 days of your CCR cycle end date.

Thus, the PMP certification journey is designed to ensure that you keep on working on your professional skills and competencies. Invest in our project management courses today to start your PMP journey. For more details, contact us today.

Table of Contents